Full Belly, Happy Heart

Sometimes, when I come home from work, I simply do not have what it takes to get a meal on the table. On those nights, my family has choices. The first is peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for everyone, but serving these for dinner is an act of utter desperation ~ as is cold cereal and canned soup.

Another choice is to grab fast food somewhere, knowing we are probably sacrificing nutrition for convenience. And fried food gets old very quickly, even for the little ones who really only want the burger and fries because a toy comes with it.

Thankfully, we have a better option. We had a night like this just last week, and we took ourselves to Mainstreet Restaurant for dinner. The atmosphere is comfortable, it’s like eating at a friend’s house, which we love. The dish I had was so wonderful, I had an epiphany while eating it — there is nothing better than a scrumptious home-cooked meal, except for one cooked for you by someone else. I have to comment on what I ate because it was so completely satisfying.

I had a thinly sliced, glazed pork loin. It was perfectly seasoned with a Brazilian rub, a mixture whose ingredients I can only guess at. It was absolutely mouth-watering and was better than anything I could have worked up at home feeling like I was. If you’re near Idaho Springs and don’t have the energy to make dinner, let Mainstreet make it for you. It is such an affordable treat, and you’ll leave with a full belly and happy heart.

Leave a Reply

